Skip to main content
Fairfield Glade Sportsman Club

650 Shorty Barnes Road, Crossville, Tennessee

Recreational Shooting at its BEST! Since 1987.....
One of the finest facilities in the Southeast

Trap/Skeet Hours: Club house is open :

Clubhouse is manned Thursday and Saturday Afternoons Keep an eye on the Red print in the middle of the home page this is the report area that will have any closed Club house information because of Weather.

If you renewed or joined  on our website you will have to go to the Club house when it is open to get your button and membership card

Club house hours are  Sat 12 PM (noon) to  4PM or TBD in case of bad weather these hours are year round

Club house open hours for Thursday :  10AM-2:30 these hours are year round



Jul 9, 1987 
Preliminary meeting that founded FGSC.
Present –
Joe Puryear, Lloyd Fredrick (Club co-founders)
Doug Cox (Sales Rep-Fairfield Communities Inc.)
Kathy Boyer (Head of Recreation)
Jack Cole (Head of Security).
Jul 27, 1987
Club founded date.
32 people present.
Dave Clark motion to form club.
Puryear- Pres, Cox-V Pres, Fredrick – Sec’y/Treas. All 32 join club.

Fall 1987 
Billy Hopper widens road to club site and trap field.
Members prepare club grounds.
Jan-July 1988
Winchester-Western trap machine purchased.
Trap field laid-out.
Steak fries started.
Oct 1988
First trap shoot with Win-Wes machine.
Membership at 53.
52 Charter Members
Dec 1988
First wild game dinner
Aug 1989
Club memb at 100
Apr-Sep 1990
Pavilion built. Grand opening on Sep 12
Construction of pistol range and 150 yard rifle range at the old leaf dump 
Feb 1989
Cumberland Mountain Bowhunters Assn (Richard Riden) build 18 target archery range in woods and join club. at the leaf dump
Sam Sherrill and Tony Hall form Cumberland Archery Club and use club range at the leaf dump
Jan 1995
Club co-founder Lloyd Fredrick passes away.
Mar 1995
Bill Anderson and Pete Brennen start search for new club location.
Membership at 150
Feb 12, 1996
Club purchases 70 acres of land on Shorty Barnes road for $42,000.
Rest of 1996 used to lay out club house and shooting amenities
Spring 1997
Hopper preps club house site, parking and traps 1,2,3 are started.
Fall 1997
30’ X 40’ club house completed.
Aug 1997
First informal club trap shoot Tues, Sat, Sun afternoons club house open
Trap league shooting – Tue evening
Sep 25,1999
Pete Brennen forms club’s first registered ATA shoot.
43 shooters.
Singles champ – Wade Frazier (White Pine, TN) 100X100, Gerald Brewer (Crossville) 99X100
Handicap Champ – John Price (Crossville) 95X100 from 20 yards
Doubles Champ – Robert Dyer (Tompkinsville, KY) 97X100
Sep 30, 1999
First automatic trap machine installed
Summer 1999
 Pistol range (25 yd) and rifle range (175 yd) built in woods on South property. At the lead dump 
Fall 1999
First voice release system used on traps.
Apr 25, 2000
Second auto trap machine installed.
Summer 2000
Skeet field started. Operational in Jan 2001.
Aug 5, 2000
Randy Savage – first club member to fire 100X100 in official ATA shoot.
Fall 2001
Trap fields 4 and 5 built. Operational in spring 2002
Apr 2002
Membership at 286.
Apr 11, 2002
Dave Hohler writes first detailed history of club’s first 15 years – published in Crossville-Chronicle and Glade Sun.
Start of publication of pertinent club news
Paul Cunningham and Dick Gerlach along with Dave Philippe formed first pistol program with PPC league at old club by the leaf dump 
Summer-Fall 2004
Mark Filley and Kim Chamberlin receive unanimous approval from the Cumberland County Board of Education on Nov 4, 2004 to form a scholastic clay target program (SCTP) trap shooting team at Cumberland County High School. Introducing the Youth Program in our club. 
May 2005
Mark Filley establishes club web site ,
Site is greatly expanded by Dave Philippe in 2007 who is now web manager
Club tri-fold/flyer printed. 500-750 passed out each year at over 30 locations in county Dave Philippe did the detail writing of the flyer 
Jun 2005
CCHS wins both TN SCTP open and high school state championships. 17 members.
Nov 2005
Membership at 400
Spring 2006
Construction of two skeet fields on North end of property.
Skeet field 1 combined with existing trap field 5 and combined skeet field 2 and trap field 6.
May-Nov 2006
Warren Kaczmarek and Dave Philippe organize construction of the pistol ranges –Dave Philippe and Paul Cunningham plan the  100 yd rim-fire rifle range at South edge of property. Pistol and RIfle ranges were built under the direction of Dave Philippe
Jan 2007
SMHS joins CCHS to form the Cumberland County SCTP trap team at our club 
Jan 27, 2007
 Club co-founders Puryear and Fredrick receive 1st Annual Sportsman-of-the Year award at the club’s 19th annual wild game dinner.
Mar 20, 2009
Club co-founder Joe Puryear passes away.
May 2009
Chamber of Commerce/Gateway Productions produce 20 min film on FGSC, Hohler and Cunningham interviewed.
Repeated in 2010 with interview of Hohler and Amanda Server.
Again in 2012 with Cunningham.
Spring 2011
Doug Server pavilion built, Dave Philippe drew the plans and oversaw the building
Spring-Fall 2011
300 yard centerfire range built. Operational in early 2012

May 2016- Pistol and potluck was started by Marjorie Philippe

March 2017
Started using club express , members can now pay on line for years  memberships. 

Sept 30, 2017     570 members cost of yearly membership $90. plus tax $98.75 

The 30th Anniversary Celebration was held honoring our founding fathers . It was held on Sept 30, 2017

Oct.2017 The Constitution was modified Members will vote on  the new version in the Nov election. Memberships will run for a year with the date they sign up as their anniversary date from that time on. The club is encouraging Volunteers to sign up for the front desk, also other positions to help keep down the cost of running the front desk.  The bird management system will be installed in Oct .
Sept 2017 the rifle range was extended to 500 Yards designed by Dave Philippe Excavating done by Pat Stone. 

2019 the addition of a 5 stand was purchased and in place under the direction of Richard Webb and Dave Philippe
Sept 1 2019 Dues are increased to $100. a year for primary members their spouse or significant other and their children under the age of 18
Sept 2019 The rifle range upgrade was completed which included grading installing a tile at the creek and building up of the birm adding gravel all along the 500 yard range. This was done by Pat Stone under the direction of Dave Philippe Dozer was provided by Marshal Pheu for $300. which included delivery charge and fuel. Marshal was given a lifetime membership. 
Nov 2019 election Voted in first Woman President Marjorie Philippe. Young Sportsman of the year is Corbin Moore, Citizenship award went to Justin Reed. 

FGSC Presidents

1987-1989 Joe Puryear

1990-1991 Doug Cox

1992 Joe Puryear

1993 Bill Weaver

1994-1997 Carl Anderson

1998-2000 Pete Brennen

2001-2002 Roy Woody

2003-2006 Carl Wedlick

2006-2008 Paul Cunningham

2009-2013 Dave Hohler

2014-2016 Chuck Burgess

2017- 2019     Dave Philippe

2020-2021   Marjorie Philippe